Salted Caramel Cupcakes

Initially the idea of making salted caramel came from the sea salt flakes that my partner bought for me. After reading some recipes and advice from the Internet, I attempted to make the salted caramel sauce by my own. It turned out very good, absolutely creamy and delicious, better than those in the supermarket shelf. Believe me, after all this, you would never find yourself looking for good salted caramel sauce from the shelf anymore. Most of bloggers would recommend using salt flakes to make the salted caramel sauce, but if you don’t have salt flakes, I do recommend using just coarse sea salt, just make sure you grind it. It did not change the taste at all from the salt flakes version. Just make sure you strain the sauce when the cooking process is finished.

Chocolate Cupcake with Salted Caramel Frosting

Chocolate Cupcake with Salted Caramel Frosting


I have tried different types of icing, from buttercream icing to cream cheese icing. This time, I combined buttercream and cream cheese icing and also add in the salted caramel sauce to make a beautiful salted caramel frosting. I make a batch of chocolate cupcakes, rich but not too sweet. I also filled my cupcakes with the salted caramel sauce, tried to squeeze in as much salted caramel sauce as possible as the sweetness is required to compliment and also finish the taste of the chocolate cupcake itself. The filling also inside gives a bit of surprise for those who bite into the cupcake. To finish the presentation, I also drizzled the salted caramel sauce on the top to tempt the diner.

Cupcake in box with closed lid

Cupcake in box with closed lid

I have the honour to make these cupcakes for my colleague’s father’s birthday. My colleague and her family has tasted my salted caramel cupcakes before and I do attempt to make my creation better each day. I hope my colleague’s father enjoys the cake. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!

Presentation - Happy Birthday!

Presentation – Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

